February 2017 Empties!

2017-february-empties-jpg

The Reviews…

Marcelle 3-in-1 Micellar Solution
Rating: 8
This worked very well for me, it removed all my makeup and didn’t bother my eyes. It takes a few swipes to get mascara off, but no major rubbing. It also doesn’t have much of a scent, it’s faint, and does contain a mild ingredient that I try to avoid. I’ve already bought a full size and a few of their other types of makeup removers. I’m looking forward to testing them. This was a 1.7oz sample in one of my monthly Birchboxes. Full size is $19.95 for 10oz ($2/oz).

Ole Henriksen Pure Truth Melting Cleanser
Rating: 4
I was really excited to get this sample with my Ole Henriksen sale order, but then I tried it… I’ve used oily cleansers before, but OMG this left my face crazy oily even after my step 2 cleanser! It wasn’t a slightly oily in a hydrating way, I was left with a grease face after using my second step cleanser. It didn’t remove my makeup very well and I don’t wear heavy makeup. I had to rub my eyes way to much for it to remove the mascara. Not good. I was very disappointed, they need to try again on this formula. I did try it again the next night to make sure I wasn’t crazy or using it wrong. It’s to bad because it’s free of all of my bad ingredients. I got two uses out of the 0.1oz foil packet. Full size is $32 for 3.4oz ($9.41/oz).

Lush Lemony Flutter Cuticle Butter
Rating: 8
The great thing about this, is that a little really does go a long way and it works great on dry skin and cuticles. I found that it does sit on top of my skin for a while (doesn’t absorb quickly) and can leave you with oily hands for a few minutes. After it sinks in, my skin stays hydrated for hours. It has a nice natural lemony scent; it pretty much smells like all of the oils combined. There are a few synthetics in it that I try to avoid. That being said, I still picked up another one of these because there are 14 oils and butters in it. I even used one of their sample containers to keep some at work. This was the full size for $19.95 for 1.5oz ($13.30/oz).

Dr. Jart+ Water Drop
Rating: 8
This is a really cool product, it comes out as a gel lotion and then it dissolves in to water droplets when applied. It works really well, keeps skin hydrated. I love this but I’m unhappy that it has a few chemicals in it that I really do try to stay away from. I do have a few samples left to use occasionally until I can find something similar without the chemicals. I really do love it though. I received this 1oz sample in my Sephora Play! bag. Full size is $36 for 3.3oz ($10.91/oz).

Juara Candlenut Body Creme
Rating: 9
I need a tub of this. After using this, I had velvety soft skin without a greasy or oily feel. It absorbs quickly and has a nice light sweet smell. It does contain one mild additive that I try to avoid. Regardless, I need to buy a full size because this is awesome and to try some of their other products asap. This was a 0.34oz sample in my monthly Birchbox. The full size is $35 for 7.5oz ($4.67/oz).

Benton Shea Butter and Coconut Hand Cream
Rating: 7
This is a new product that I received as a gift from Benton. They sent a full size tube, which lasted longer than I thought it would. I wasn’t happy with how long each application lasted after using it on my hands. It wasn’t hydrating enough and had to reapply to often. I did use this during the middle of winter, so it would probably work fine in the summer for me as a light moisturizer. Also, this had almost no scent. If they come out with other versions, I would try them but I’m not buying this one. The good news – Benton products are always free of bad ingredients, yay!  The full size is priced at $11 for 1.77oz ($6.21/oz).

Caudalie Grape Water
Rating: 10
I picked this up at Sephora on a whim, I was looking to try a new mist and it had a free sample of Vinosource with it. It is now a must have for me. I love the mist, it’s refreshing before or after makeup. I use this mostly as a first step toner and occasionally during the day. I used this during the winter, but it will be nice and refreshing for the summer also. I love that it’s organic and chemical free. I’ll be picking up more of this in the full size asap. This was the 2.5oz travel size for $13, the full size is a better bargain at $22 for 6.7oz ($3.29/oz).

Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion
Rating: 7
This works great, the exfoliating crystals are very fine and doesn’t irritate my skin. It’s a very gentle exfoliater, but only use 1-2 times a week. I really did like it, however I won’t buy it. It’s crazy expensive and has way to many bad chemicals in it for my liking. I’ll usually let a few slide, but this has at least 7. If that doesn’t bother you and you got some cash to burn, then try it because it does work very well. I got this 0.25oz sample size in a Birchbox. Full size is $79 for 2oz ($39.50/oz).

GlamGlow SuperMud Clearing Treatment
Rating: 9
This is pretty much magical when it comes to cleaning out those pesky pores. They get so clean, they are practically invisible. I love to use this once a week or every other week. If you have sensitive skin, I’m not sure this would be good idea because it’s serious about cleaning. I do have to mention that this does contain a mild ingredient that I try to avoid. This 0.3oz sample arrived in a Sephora Play! bag, but I have a bunch more from many stores. They recently updated the amount in their full size, it’s now $69 for 1.7oz ($40.59/oz). However, they still have a few of the old size available on their website at $45 for 1.2oz ($37.50/oz), a better bargain. I’ll probably pick up one of the $45 containers before they are sold out.

Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator
Rating: 9
This equals the Dr Brandt Microdermabrasion with a lot more bang for your buck. It has gentle exfoliating micro crystals and doesn’t irritate my skin when I use it twice a week. It does contain one additive that I try to avoid, unlike the Dr Brandt that has way to many chemicals. I’ll be buying this when I use up more of my exfoliators, I have a few to many already… This 0.7oz sample arrived in one of my Birchboxes. The full size is $34 for 4.23oz ($8.04/oz).

Oribe Dry Texturizing Spray
Rating: 9
I love this spray. It really works great for giving my fine hair the extra volume it needs and it also smells great. It does contain a synthetic that I find questionable to use, however I do plan on buying the full size. This 1oz sample was in a monthly Birchbox. The travel size is $22 for 2.2oz ($10/oz) and the better bargain full size is $46 for 8.5oz ($5.41/oz).

Verb Leave-In Mist
Rating: 6
This is a thin lotion gel consistency, but in a spray bottle. It’s an odd thick mist. It was light and didn’t weight my hair down, but it didn’t do anything as a leave in conditioner. I used this mostly at night as a hair mask, which was ok. I’ll pass on this though because it has to many chemicals in it and it was just ok. This 1oz sample was in a Sephora Play! bag. The travel size is $7 for 2.1oz ($3.34/oz) and the better value full size is $14 for 8oz ($1.75/oz).

Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer (Smoothing Primer)
Rating: 8
I thought this primer was good; it smoothed and didn’t dry out my skin. It is kinda pricey so I’m not sure yet if I would buy it. The good thing is that a little goes a long way so you really get a lot out of the tube. I’ll probably stop by Sephora and pickup samples of a few of the other versions to try out. It was hard to find an ingredients list, but what I did find seemed pretty good. This 0.16oz sample arrived in one of my Sephora Play! bags. The better bargain is the travel size at $17 for 0.5oz ($34/oz). The full size is $37 for 1oz ($37/oz).

Below are a few Lush products that I bought during the Boxing Day / After Christmas sale. They are not in the photo because there is nothing really to take a photo of when they are gone. Yay 🙂 

Lush Autumn Leaf Bath Bombs
Rating: 5
This was pretty to look at before the bath as a colorful leaf and it smelled ok. But once it’s in the bath, it turns the water bright yellow, which wasn’t pleasant to look at or bathe in. And the smell was an odd earthy something. I bought two of these as a bogo. These contain a mild additive I try to avoid. I wouldn’t buy them again because I found them unpleasant. They are each 4.5oz for $6.95 ($1.54/oz), 1 use per.

Lush Jester Reusable Bubble Bar
Rating: 8
This was fun to look at and use. It smells like spicy citrus and turns the bath a warm orange with lots of bubbles. I would definitely buy this again even though it does contain a mild additive on my list. I got this in the Jester gift box, all gift boxes were bogo. They are each 3.5oz for $10.95 ($3.13/oz) and I got 3 uses out of it.

Lush Candy Cane Roulade
Rating: 9
I loved this creamy soap. It has a great minty smell, which is great for waking you up in the morning and for deodorizing after workouts. It also contains a bunch of oils, which kept my skin moisturized for the day. I picked up 2 slices of this during the bogo sale, 4oz for $11.25 ($2.81/oz).

And here’s a sneak peek of a few things I’m trying to empty for March…

empties teaser preview march 2017

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

