January 2017 Empties!

Yay, my first real blog post! I figured this would be a good topic for a first post… And now it’s time for the reviews!

airbrush_20170204220804

The Reviews…

SecretA Magic Foot Peeling Mask
Rating: 8
If you’ve never used a peeling foot mask, you should. Just know that you should do it 2 weeks prior to when you want your feet on display. The in between stages of foot peeling for days is both gross and satisfying. I don’t use these often because I’m impatient and hate waiting for the peeling to begin days later, but once in a while it’s good to do them. This one worked like the others I’ve used in the past. I did like the foot booties better and they had good written instructions, in case you are a newbie. I’d consider buying this again from Memebox, I bought this on sale for $2.

Algenist Complete Eye Renewal Balm
Rating: 7
This was a good eye cream to try. It didn’t stand out or do anything magical for me, but it also didn’t irritate my eyes which is a small victory. I liked the creamy consistency and that it had almost no scent. It was very hydrating and there was slight plumping of the skin, but it didn’t do anything noticeable for dark circles. I probably wouldn’t buy this in the future as there isn’t much bang for the buck. I received this in a Sephora Play! bag. Full size is $68 for 0.5oz ($136/oz).

Botanic Farm Grain Ferment Cleansing Sherbet
Rating: 8
This works slightly better than the Banila Co cleansing balm for me. I prefer this one because it doesn’t have mineral oil and parabens in it like the Banila one does and my skin feels less dried out after. It’s also slightly less scented, which I always prefer. This is a great first cleanser/makeup remover, it removes all my makeup easily (I don’t wear anything all that heavy or hard to remove anyways). If you’re a kbeauty fan, then I would suggest this one over the Banila. It’s a good cleanser and I would buy it again from Memebox. Full size is $30 for 3.38oz ($8.88/oz), however you can usually find it cheaper on Memebox.

Boscia Charcoal MakeUp Melter Cleansing Oil-Balm
Rating: 10
I liked the idea of this first step cleanser also having charcoal in it, so I was excited to try it out. So far, this is my favorite cleaning balm. The only thing I don’t like about it in comparison to all the others I’ve tried – it’s slightly more expensive. I attribute that to the 2 kinds of charcoal, shea butter, and sunflower oil that it contains (and no parabens, mineral oil, etc). My skin feels hydrated and looks clear after using this, I love it. I received this as a free deluxe sample from Sephora and I’ve already purchased the full size. Full size is $32 for 3oz ($10.67/oz).

Clinique Pep-Start Eye Cream
Rating: 4
This was a little disappointing to use, I expected better from Clinique. It’s a thin lotion consistency that absorbs quickly and is hydrating. However, it irritated my eyes the first few times and it actually looked liked it made my dark circles more noticeable after each use. I received this as a free deluxe sample from Sephora and I won’t be buying this anytime soon. Full size is $26.50 for 0.5oz ($53/oz).

Benton Honest TT Mist
Rating: 7
I’ll just start this by saying I love Benton products and I think I own everything they make. There’s tea tree and aloe in it, so it’s great for those days when your skin feels a little cranky. It’s refreshing, helps with redness, has a nice fine mist (less of a spray), and minimal scent. It’s great during the warm summer months. I use it sparingly because the container is small and I only purchase it on sale for that reason. I’ve already repurchased from Memebox. Full size is $11 for 1.35oz ($8.15/oz).

InstaNatural Moroccan Rose Water
Rating: 10
I love using 100% rose water as a mist/toner. It’s soothing, hydrating, and just magical for me. I’ve tried a few brands over the years, but this is my favorite. This has a very faint scent, nothing obnoxious. I had been looking for a good pure and natural rose water after I had found out that my great grandma had used it everyday in her beauty routine (and she had beautiful skin!). I have already bought my third bottle of this from InstaNatural. Full size is $13.97 for 4oz ($3.49/oz).

Living Proof Perfect Hair Day Night Cap Overnight Perfector
Rating: 10
Honestly I wasn’t expecting to like this product because I don’t use many hair conditioners, they weigh down my fine hair. But then I tried this and I fell in love with it. It smells amazing, I don’t know what the scent is, but it’s magical and lasts a few days. It dries in the hair quickly so that there’s no residue left on your pillow. I’ve used it on both damp and dry hair at night, works well either way. It claims to only be needed once a week and that it lasts up to 5 shampoos – well that’s not a lie. It lasts and doesn’t weigh down my fine hair, yay! I’m buying more of this asap. I received this in a Sephora Play! bag. Full size is $28 for 4oz ($7/oz).

First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser
Rating: 8
Ok, so I wasn’t really impressed by this when I first started using it but it grew on me. I found that I kept using it when my skin was feeling dry or irritated, it’s very gentle and moisturizing. The texture is like a creamy whipped foam and it has no fragrance. It was great for the cold winter months, it became my go to. I bought this from First Aid Beauty and would consider repurchasing in the future. Available in 3 sizes – $10 for 2oz ($5/oz), $20 for 5oz ($4/oz), and $28 for 8oz ($3.50/oz). The 8oz size is the best price per ounce.

Caudalie Vinosource Moisturizing Sorbet
Rating: 9
This moisturizer is a whipped gel cream (sounds interesting, right?!) and it looks like a cottage cheese lotion. It has a faint earthy grape smell that fades quickly. I found this to work very well in the warmer months as a final cream and it layered well with other creams during the colder months. This absorbed quickly and left a matte finish, no greasy lotion look after (yay!). I received this as a free deluxe sample from Sephora and will be buying the full size soon. Full size is $39 for 1.3oz ($30/oz).

Sephora Collection Sleeping Mask in Lingzhi
Rating: 8
This particular mask is for anti-aging and smoothing and it worked very well, I woke up in the mornings with plumper looking skin. The nice thing about these masks is that you can get 3-4 uses out of each container. The bad thing is that there’s no way of sealing the container back up after you open it. It’s best to use it a few days in a row to see results. I received this as a free sample from Sephora and I plan on buying this again and trying the other versions. Full size is $4 for 0.27oz ($14.81/oz).

Perricone MD PRE:EMPT Series Oil-Free Hydrating Cream
Rating: 5
I was excited to try this because it said oil free, but I was left disappointed. It left my face shiny and I looked oily. For some reason my dry/combo skin didn’t want this to absorb. After using it a week I gave up on using it on my face and used up the rest as a neck cream. It worked fine overall, it hydrates but nothing exciting for the price it costs. I received this as a free deluxe sample from Sephora and don’t plan on buying it in the future. Full size is $75 for 2oz ($37.50/oz).

ME! Bath Lavender Lullaby Tini ME! Bath Bomb
Rating: 5
This was not as fragrant as I thought it would be, but maybe I’ve been spoiled by Lush? This was a small bath bomb, but I still expected more fragrance from it. I was disappointed that it was so very very faint, I really wanted a stronger lavender scent. The water turned a pale lilac, but I didn’t expect much color from it. I bought this from Target and I won’t buy this scent again but I may try another. Each pack has 2 for $3.99 ($1.99 each).

Ouai Volume Shampoo
Rating: 6
A small sample packet to try, I only got 2 uses out of it. Seemed to work alright, I’d try it again but I’m not sure if I would spend money on a full size just yet. I received this as a free sample from Sephora. Full size is $28 for 10oz ($2.80/oz).

Yu-Be Foaming Skin Polish
Rating: 6
Another sample packet to test, I got a few uses out of this (I think it was 3 or 4?). This didn’t do any foaming for me, but it was a nice scrub. I wouldn’t spend money on it right now as I have plenty of exfoliators. I received this as a free sample from Sephora. Full size is $19 for 6.75oz ($2.81/oz).

Lush Oral Pressure Toothy Tabs
Rating: 7
I really like the Lush Toothy Tabs, I’ve been using them recently. I think it’s fun to have something other than mint to brush your teeth with (and minus all the chemicals!). I picked up a sample of the Oral Pressure the last time I was in the store, they were super nice and gave me a 7 day supply to really try it out. I liked these and will probably buy them after I finish my current ones. Full size is $9.95 for 1.7oz ($5.85/oz).

And here’s a sneak peek of a few things I’m trying to empty for February…

airbrush_20170205232338

 

Save

Save

One thought on “January 2017 Empties!

Leave a Reply

